American Institute of Architects, San Francisco Chapter

2014 Design Award Winners Announcement

Posted on April 24, 2014

Congratulations 2014 AIASF Design Award Winners

Projects on view at

San Francisco, CA (April 24, 2014) - The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIA San Francisco) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 AIA San Francisco Design Awards. The winners were revealed and celebrated last night at the SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco.

Winners were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the built environment in the categories of Excellence in Architecture, Excellence in Interior Architecture, Energy + Sustainability, Historic Preservation, Unbuilt Design and Special Achievement. No winners were named for the 25 Year Award or Young Architect/Associate categories.

Winning projects are featured online at, included in a print publication available at the AIASF office, and will be showcased in an exhibition on view May 12 - August 8 at the AIA San Francisco gallery (130 Sutter Street, Suite 600). (Image: Moose Road Residence // Bruce Damonte.)

Excellence in Architecture

Honor awards were given to Mork Ulnes Architects for Moose Road Residence and Stanley Saitowitz / Natoma Architects Inc for 1029 Natoma Street.

Merit awards were given to Bohlin Cywinski Jackson for Apple Store, Stanford, Kennerly Architecture & Planning, Inc. for 300 Cornwall, Paulett Taggart Architects for Hunters View Housing Phase I, and WRNS Studio for the Adobe Utah Campus.

Citation awards were given to ELS Architecture and Urban Design for East Oakland Sports Center, and to The Office of Charles F. Bloszies for Blu Dot Furniture.

Image: 300 Cornwall // Bruce Damonte

Excellence in Interior Architecture

Merit awards were given to LINEOFFICE Architecture for San Francisco Loft and OpenScope Studio and Amanda Loper for
St. Frank Coffee

Citation awards were given to Bohlin Cywinski Jackson for Square, Inc. Headquarters, Terry & Terry Architecture for Hybrid Design, and VeeV Design for 232 Wurster.

Image: San Francisco Loft // Joe Fletcher

Unbuilt Design

Field Architecture received an honor award for Karoo Wilderness Center.

A merit award was given to Chris DeHenzel for Oakland Food Hub.

Citation awards were given to Kuth Ranieri Architects for Museum of the American Indian, SmithGroupJJR and HITADRI for Fuwai Huazhong Cardiovascular and Heart Hospital and VeeV Design for Ambient House.

Image: Museum of the American Indian // Kuth Ranieri Architects

Historic Preservation

Honor awards were given to Hamilton + Aitken Architects and Siegel & Strain Architects for Maritime Center and Van Meter Williams Pollack LLP for St. Joseph's Redevelopment.

McGinnis Chen Associates, Page & Turnbull
and The Albert Group received a merit award for The Hallidie Building Restoration.

Carey & Co., Inc. accepted a citation award for Stanely Mosk State Library & Courts Building.

Image: The Hallidie Building Restoration // Sherman Takata

Energy + Sustainability

An honor award was given to EHDD for Exploratorium at Pier 15.

Siegel & Strain Architects received a merit award for Jess Jackson Sustainable Winery Building.

Citation awards were given to Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects for Sweetwater Spectrum Community and WRNS Studio for Sacred Heart Schools Net Zero Stevens Library.

Exploratorium at Pier 15 // Bruce Damonte

Special Achievement

Curry Stone Design Prize, The Edible Schoolyard Project, San Francisco Housing Action Coalition, UC Berkeley Environmental Design Archives and Margie O'Driscoll, Hon. AIA were recognized with special achievement awards.


The 2014 AIA San Francisco Design Awards Jury Chair was Jennifer Yoos, FAIA principal of VJAA.

25 Year Award
AIA San Francisco Board of Directors

Excellence in Architecture
Jennifer Yoos, FAIA, VJAA, Sarah Willmer, AIA, Studio Sarah Willmer , Allison Williams, FAIA, AECOM

Excellence in Interior Architecture
Jennifer Yoos, FAIA, VJAA, Amy Eliot, AIA, Dilworth Eliot Studio , Luke Ogrydziak, AIA,Ogrydziak / Prillinger Architects

Historic Preservation
Mike Buhler (Chair), San Francisco Heritage, Emily Marthinsen, AIA, UC Berkeley , Julianne Polanco, Lend Lease, David Neuman, University of Virginia

Energy + Sustainability
Sam Jensen Augustine, Assoc. AIA (Chair), Pacific Energy Center, Bill Burke, AIA (Chair), Pacific Energy Center, Zorana Bosnic, HOK , Harrison Fraker, FAIA, UC Berkeley College of Environmental Design, Stet Sanborn, Integral Group

Special Achievement
Scott Dunlap, AIA, Gensler , Darlene Jang, AIA (Chair), Barcelon+Jang, Irving Gonzales, AIA, Gonzales Architects, Clark Manus, FAIA, Heller Manus, Cathy Simon, FAIA, Perkins + Will

Unbuilt Design
Jennifer Yoos, FAIA, VJAA, Cary Bernstein, AIA, Cary Bernstein | Architect, Tom Jones, AIA, Cal Poly

Young Architect/Associate
AIA San Francisco Board of Directors