American Institute of Architects, San Francisco Chapter

Design Awards

Click here to view 2016 Design Award Winners

In existence for nearly half a century, AIA San Francisco’s Design Awards program recognizes the outstanding achievements in architecture and design of Bay Area individuals and organizations as well as celebrates the distinguished work of architects and related professionals from afar who contribute to the framework of our local built environment. The program serves to inform the public of the breadth and value of architectural practice.

Ceremony and Gala

April 20, 6:00 - 9:30 pm
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center, 401 Van Ness Avenue

  • 5:30 pm - Doors open
  • 6:00 pm - Ceremony will begin promptly
  • Wine tasting reception to follow in the Green Room

Winning projects will be announced at the ceremony.

Learn More Here

Master of Ceremonies: Jennifer Dunlop Fletcher, SFMOMA
Jennifer Dunlop Fletcher is the Helen Hilton Raiser Curator of Architecture + Design at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, where she has worked since 2008. Recent curatorial projects include, Typeface to Interface (co-curator) (2016); Claudy Jongstra, Aarde (2016) Lebbeus Woods, Architect (co-curator) (2013); A. Quincy Jones: Building for Better Living (2013) The Utopian Impulse: Buckminster Fuller and the Bay Area (2012), and a commissioned work by filmmaker, Mike Mills, about Silicon Valley for Project Los Altos: SFMOMA in the Bay Area (2013). She has published essays on the practice of A. Quincy Jones, Ewan Gibbs, Tobias Wong, and Lebbeus Woods. Dunlop Fletcher earned a bachelor’s degree in Art History from New York University (1993). She received a master’s in Curatorial Studies of Contemporary Art from Bard College (1999), and a master’s in Architecture History and Theory from Harvard University (2004).


The 2016 Design Awards Jury will take place in Austin, TX.

Burton Baldridge, AIA

Christopher Cobb, AIA

Coleman Coker

Robert Harris, FAIA

Wendy Dunnam Tita, AIA

Award Briefs




The Design Awards program is structured into categories and concentrations. By highlighting concentrations we aim to give special acknowledgement to projects that further encompass the values of good design within the context of historic preservation, urban design, and social responsibility.

With this format we hope to demonstrate that all of these disciplines explored collectively, rather than independently, strengthen the overall power and scope of architecture to help shape the built environment and enrich the human spirit.

In recognition of the importance of sustainable design, AIASF instituted a separate award category for energy and sustainability in 2003. In the last 13 years, the profession as a whole has transformed the way it designs, builds, and maintains buildings. The Design Awards program now incorporates the fulfillment of sustainable design principles into all categories. Sponsored by PG&E Pacific Energy Center.

Entry Fees

Early Deadline: February 11, 2016 at 1:00 pm
$205 AIASF Member Submission | $385 General Submission | Free for Full-Time Architectural and Design Students (with ID)

Final Deadline: February 25, 2016 at 1:00 pm
$255 AIASF Member Submission | $435 General Submission | $35 for Full-Time Architectural and Design Students (with ID)

*Financial hardship fee waiver available in the Unbuilt category. Fee Waiver Request Form.

Redeem IDP Credit Hours

IDP Candidates can redeem up to 40 hours per experience area (excluding leadership & service). Candidates should fill out the Design Awards Verification form. This form is to certify that the AIASF Design Awards program meets the requirements of completing a design competition for IDP credit as defined in the IDP Guidelines.

For information on IDP Experience reporting, visit NCARB's IDP Guidelines.


Have a question about your eligibility or the submission process? View our most frequently asked questions or email Karsen Maruca.

California and National award programs

Visit the following websites for more information on state-wide and national design award programs: